Image provided by Linkware Graphics at

The Western Reserve Chorale


Next Concert

June 3rd

7:00 p.m.

Grace Lutheran Church


New Singers Welcome!

Rehearsals  Tuesdays

7:15 PM

Sept. - May

Grace Lutheran Church

Cleveland Hts.


Fall Program 2008 - 2009

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Grace Lutheran Church, Cleveland Hts., OH


 Seventeenth Annual Holiday Concert

Presenting music of Mendelssohn, Rheinberger, Lauridson

and works for Brass, Chorus and Organ by Gallus, Praetorius, Schutz,

Gabrieli and Pachelbel



 the Western Reserve Chorale

Dr. J. D. Goddard, Artistic Director

Joanne Poderis, Accompanist

David Sparks, Guest Organist

and Brass Ensemble


Fanfare for Christmas - Walter L. Pelz (based on Warum sollt ich by Johann G Ebeling)

David Sparkes, Organ


Puer Natus in Bethlehem - Josef Rheinberger (1839-1901) edited by Douglas J. Walczak (ASCAP)

Veni Domine - Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Western Reserve Chorale (Women)


O Magnum Mysterium - Nicholas White (from “Alleluia! Puer Natus Est Nobis”)

Alice Bewie, soprano

O Magnum Mysterium - Patricia Long

O Magnum Mysterium - Morten Lauridsen

O God, Who by the leading of a star - Thomas Attwood (1765-1838)

Dormi Jesu - Luc Jakobs

Cancion Azul De Cuna - Emilio Solé

Elizabeth Gockel, Alto

Noël - Eustache Du Caurroy (1549-1609)

Western Reserve Chorale




Ein Kindelein so lobelich -Michael Praetorius (1571-1621) (Arr. Michel Rondeau)

Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland (SWV301) - Heinrich Schutz (1585-1672) (Arr. Michel Rondeau)

Organ and Brass


Haec Dies - Jacob Gallus (1550-1591) (Arr. and Edited by Jason Metheney)

Chorus & Brass

Western Reserve Chorale (Men)


Puer Natus in Bethlehem - Michael Praetorius (1571-1621) (Arr. Michel Rondeau)

Jauchzet dem Herren - Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672) (Arr. Michel Rondeau)

Domine Exaudi Orationem Meam - Giovanni Gabrieli (1557-1613) (Arr. & Edited by Jason Metheney)

In Dulci Jubilo - 1st Setting:  Michael Praetorius (1571-1621)

2nd Setting: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) (arr. Michel Rondeau (1948-))

Singet dem Herr nein neues Lied - Johann Pachelbel (1653-1706) (Arr. & Edited by Jason Metheney)

Chorus, Brass & Organ

Western Reserve Chorale


The Instrumental Ensemble

Mike Rubin - Trumpet

Amanda Bekeny - Trumpet

Trombone - Jason Smith

Bass Trombone - John Simna

Organ - David Sparkes

Supported in part by the: